Student Compulsory Attendance
Except when exempt by Oregon law, all students’ ages 7-18 that have not completed the 12th grade are required to regularly attend school full-time during the entire school term.
All students five or six years of age who have been enrolled in a public school are required to attend regularly.
Persons having legal control of a student ages 7-18 who has not yet completed the 12th grade are required to have the student attend school. Persons having legal control of a student who is five or six years of age and has enrolled the child in a public school, are required to have the student attend and maintain regular attendance.
Under the Superintendent’s direction and supervision, designated school personnel shall monitor and report any violation of the compulsory attendance law to the Superintendent or designee. Failure to send a student and to maintain a student in regular attendance is a Class C violation and is punishable by a citation.
The District will develop procedures for issuing a citation.
A parent who is not supervising his/her student by requiring school attendance may also be in violation of ORS 163.577 (1) (c). Failing to supervise a child is a Class A violation.
In addition under Board policy JHFDA - Suspension of Driving Privileges, the District may report student with 10 consecutive day’s unexcused absence or 15 cumulative days unexcused absence in a single semester to the Oregon Department of Transportation.
Exemptions from Compulsory School Attendance
In the following cases, students shall not be required to attend public schools full time:
- Students being taught in a private or parochial school in courses of study usually taught in grades 1–12 in the public schools and in attendance for a period equivalent to that required of students attending public schools;
- Students proving to the Board’s satisfaction that they have acquired the courses of study taught in grades 1-12 in the public schools;
- Students being taught by a private teacher in courses of study usually taught in grades 1-12 in the public schools for a period equivalent to that required of students attending public schools;
- Students being educated in the home by a parent. In this case, when a student is taught or is withdrawn from public school to be taught by a parent or private teachers, the parent must notify the local Education Service District (ESD) in writing within 10 days of such occurrence;
- Student excluded from attendance as provided by law;
- An exemption may be granted to the parent of any student 16 or 17 years of age who is lawfully employed full time, lawfully employed part-time and enrolled in school, or enrolled in a community college or other state-registered alternative education program as defined in ORS 336.615.
Revision Date: 11/5/12